Colours of Ireland
7 Days Program
Dublin â€“ Stillorgan Park Hotel
Galway â€“ The Glenlo Abbey
Kilkenny â€“ Hotel Kilkenny
Killerney â€“ The Fairview
Studies show that Ireland has been inhabitated since 6000 b.C., by people culturally from the middle stone age. Circa 4000 later, tribes coming from southern Europe imported a early-neolitical culture. The irish most known and visited archeological sites from this age the tombs of Newgrange and Knowth in county Meath. Both dated 3200 b.C., these are even older than Stonehenge in England and the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt.
|Morning:||Dublinia, Christ Church, St Patrick Cathedral, Dublin castle|
|Lunch:||Rustic Stone Restaurant|
|Afternoon:||Trinity College, Book of Kells, City Centre stroll, River dance Gaiety theater|
|After dinner:||Temple Bar/Pub crawling|
Founded by Vikings in the IX century, Dublin has been involved in numerous civil wars and shed blood:
Until the 80s was a capital grey and sad, but after the economic boom, has made a real breakthrough. For this reason has been re-named the Celtic Tiger. It is a city of writers and patriots and, scene of a nightlife that has its centre in the Temple Bar District.
Museum of Dublinia - The Vikings from Norway, in search of gold and treasures, landed in Ireland, attacking monasteries and stealing mostly chalices, brooches and precious books. In those days travelling from Norway was a long journey, so rather than returning home, Vikings preferred to settle on the island. They built a huge system of walls made of wood to keep out the natives and protect their homes. They named their new settlement: Dubh Linn (pronounced Dub Lin) which in Gaelic means Black Water (930 a.C.).
Leister Province in 1166 was governed by Diarmait Murchada Mac, King of Ireland. Diarmait lost control of Leister when the other Irish kings, in an alliance, defeated him in battle. Diarmait, to regain power went for help to King Henry II, who sent an army led by Strongbow, who received back control of Dublin to defend the new possessions; the Anglo Normans built numerous fortifications in stone, including Dublin Castle (completed in the year 1230). Dublin became a royal throne.
St. Patrick's Cathedral is a symbol of Dublin. The building dates back the 12th Century and stands in the sky with its tower, which rises up to 69 meters. The Cathedral was erected over the well where St. Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians, and where there was already a church of the 5th century. Despite being the largest cathedral in the Church of Ireland in Dublin, today is not the throne of any bishop, as this merit belongs to the Cathedral of Christchurch.
Originally St. Patrick's Cathedral was located outside the city walls, now part of the city. Inside it is possible to visit the graves of Dean Jonathan Swift and Boyle Monument. A must see is also the wooden doorway with two panels missing, here comes the Irish said "changing one's armâ€ť. At the end of the 5th century, the Earl of Ormond barricaded himself behind the door to protect himself from his enemy, the Earl of Kildare. Despite being promised peace and his safety, not trusting the enemy the Earl of Ormond refused to leave.
As a sign of trust, the Earl of Kildare made a hole in the wooden portal with his spear and inserts his arm as a gesture of friendship, thus exposing himself. The gesture was appreciated by the Earl of Ormond. At that point, from one side of the portal, the two accounts they shook hands, and the feud ended. For 500 years the phrase "risk an arm" or "changing one's arm" has been used to understand situations of impasse in which to succeed must take risks to get a positive result.
Trinity College is a world prestigious University, undoubtedly, the most noble and ancient in Ireland. The institution was officially founded in 1592 by Elizabeth I.
The university covers an area of 220,000 mÂ˛, including the main complex of the College and Trinity Technology and Enterprise Campus.
The library inside has got ca a million books and an important collection of ancient manuscripts, including the famous Book of Kells. Initially restricted to Protestants, Catholics were allowed since 1793, but the women only since 1904. Among the former students of Trinity College there are Samuel Beckett, Oscar Wilde, Edmund Burke and Oliver Goldsmith, the statues of the last two are located outside the entrance.
The 'Book of Kells', is an illuminated manuscript, made by Irish monks around the year 800. For the technical excellence of its creation and its beauty, this example of Irish art is considered by many one of the most important works of art at the time. It contains the Latin translation of the 4 Gospels, accompanied by introductory and explanatory notes, all accompanied by numerous illustrations and richly coloured miniatures.
|Morning:||Departure from Dublin with a stop at the Monastery of Clonmacnoise|
|Lunch:||At the Doolin Pub|
|Afternoon:||Visit to the Cliffs of Moher|
|Dinner:||At the Townhouse Dining Room|
|After dinner:||Live Irish music|
The Monastery of Clonmacnoise ("Estate of the children of NĂłs") located on the banks of the River Shannon.
It is one of the major archaeological sites in Ireland, founded in 545 by St. CiarĂˇn at the time main junction of streets from east to west, through the middle moors of Ireland on the Shannon created by the withdrawal of the last ice age glaciers.
Shortly after his arrival, CiarĂˇn met Diarmait Mac Cerbaill who helped him building the first church - a small wooden structure and the first of many small churches that are equipped with a cloister. Diarmait soon claimed the honour of being appealed as the first Supreme Ruler of Ireland as Christian.
Ciaran died after a year of the yellow plague, at the young age of just over thirty.
The Cliffs of Moher (which in Irish means "the cliffs of the ruin") are impressive and dramatic cliffs overlooking the sea, located near the village of Doolin. Famous throughout the world, is one of the most visited of Ireland. The highest point of the cliffs, which are about eight kilometres long, reaches 214 meters over the Atlantic Ocean, while the southernmost foothills, Hag's Head down to 120 meters
Galway is one of the nation's largest city (72,729 pop.), As well as an important fishing port, located in the north-eastern part of the homonymous bay in the west of which is considered by many to be the cultural capital.
Crossed by the River Corrib, a tiny but powerful river that starts from the large river Lough Corrib, located just to the north, and that gives the Gaelic name of the city.
Like other cities in the country, including Galway has its own locally brewed beer. It is actually a recent creation (2006). The Galway Hooker is named after the typical vessels of Galway and is produced in a small brewery in the area.
Doolin is a very small and typical fishermen village on the Atlantic Ocean. Interesting for its beautiful colorful houses.
|Lunch:||In the Abbey|
|Afternoon:||Connemara National Park|
|Dinner:||Cre na Cille|
Connemara National Park is a protected area characterized by impressive mountains, spreads of bogs, meadows and woods. Some of the mountains in the park are part of the famous chain of the Twelve Peaks. The name Connemara (in Gaelic, Conamara) Conmhaicne Mara comes from a tribe that lived in this area in ancient times and derived from the largest tribe Conmhaicne, located in various parts of Connacht. The suffix mara has been added to this clan for the fact that they lived in the coastal region ("Conmhaicne of the sea"). The name Con Mhac comes from a mythological character.
The park was established and opened in 1980. Most of the park belonged to the estate of Kylemore Abbey and Letterfrack Industrial Institute, while the remaining territories belonged to private.
While the interior landscape consists almost entirely of peat and a rugged territory, as well as a large number of lakes, ponds and streams, the coastal area includes a large amount of peninsulas and scattered islands.
Kylemore Abbey built in Gothic style in the 19th Century by the British parliamentary and financier Henry Mitchell, a representative of the London County Galway, the imposing building was later sold to the mourning that hit Henryâ€™s family. Later became the property of the Benedictine nuns at Ypres, fled from Belgium for the First World War, which transformed it into an abbey.
Today's abbey is well preserved and is still used for this purpose. It houses a girls' boarding school, a traditional restaurant and the pottery workshop.
|Morning:||Departure to Killarney, visit Killarney, Gap of Dunloe|
|Lunch:||Short stop for lunch|
|Afternoon:||The Ring of Kerry|
The Ring of Kerry is a tourist trail in County Kerry, south-western Ireland. The route covers the 179 km circular road, starting from Killarney, heading around the Iveragh Peninsula and passing through Kenmare, Sneem, Waterville, Cahersiveen and Killorglin. Popular points include Muckross House (near Killarney), Staigue stone fort and Derrynane House, home of Daniel O'Connell. Just south of Killarney, Ross Castle, Lough Leane, and Ladies View (a panoramic viewpoint), all located within Killarney National Park, are major attractions located along the Ring.
Killarney town and its surrounding region are home to St. Mary's Cathedral, Ross Castle, Muckross House and Abbey, Lakes of Killarney, Torc Waterfall and the Gap of Dunloe. Killarney was awarded the prestigious "Best Kept Town" award in 2007 in a cross-border competition. Owing to its natural heritage, history and proximity to the Dingle Peninsula, Skellig Michael island.
Killarney National Park was designated a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 1981 and also known for its beautiful scenery. Encompasses over 102.89 km2 of diverse ecology. Itâ€™s of high ecological value because of the quality, diversity, and extensiveness of many of its habitats and the wide variety of species that they accommodate including Ireland's only native herd of Red Deer and the most extensive covering of native forest remaining in Ireland.
|Morning:||Departure to Kilkenny, visit of the town|
|Lunch:||Traditional Irish Pub|
|Afternoon:||Kilkenny, Castle St. Patrick and Cashel|
|Dinner:||Kendals Restaurant @ Mount Juliet Conrad|
Kilkenny is a popular tourist destination in Ireland, regarded for its culture with craft and design workshops, the Watergate Theatre, public gardens and museums. Annual events include Kilkenny Arts Week, the Cat Laughs comedy festival and music at the Rhythm and Roots festival and the Source concert. It is a popular base to explore the surrounding towns, villages and countryside.
Kilkenny began with an early sixth century ecclesiastical foundation. Following Norman invasion of Ireland, Kilkenny Castle and a series of walls were built to protect the burghers. William Marshall, Lord of Leister, gave Kilkenny a charter as a town in 1207. By the late thirteenth century Kilkenny was under Norman-Irish control. The Statutes of Kilkenny passed at Kilkenny in 1367, aimed to curb the decline of the Hiberno-Norman Lordship of Ireland. In 1609 King James I of England granted Kilkenny a Royal Charter giving it the status of a city. Following the Rebellion of 1641, the Irish Catholic Confederation, also known as the "Confederation of Kilkenny", and was based in Kilkenny and lasted until the Cromwellian conquest of Ireland in 1649. Kilkenny was a Norman merchant town in the Middle Ages. Kilkenny was a famous brewing centre from the late seventeenth century.
Kilkennyâ€™s Castle has been an important site since Richard de Clare, 2nd Earl of Pembroke, commonly known as Strongbow constructed the first castle, probably a wooden structure, in the 12th century. Twenty years later, his son in law, William Marshal, 1st Earl of Pembroke built the first stone castle, to control a fording-point of the River Nore and the junction of several route ways. It was a symbol of Norman occupation and in its original thirteenth-century condition it would have formed an important element of the defences of the town with four large circular corner towers and a massive ditch
|Morning:||Departure to Glendalough|
|Lunch:||The Wicklow Heather Restaurant|
|Afternoon:||Departure to Powerscourt - Powerscourt House & Gardens|
|After dinner:||Departure to Dublin|
A glacial valley located in County Wicklow, Ireland, renowned for its Early Medieval monastic settlement founded in the 6th century by St Kevin, a hermit priest and a descendant of one of the ruling families in Leister. Kevin studied as a boy under the care of three holy men, Eoghan, Lochan, and Eanna and destroyed in 1398 by English troops Kevin. During this time, he went to Glendalough. He was to return later, with a small group of monks to found a monastery where the 'two rivers form a confluence'.
|Afternoon:||Airfield Farm - Irish food demonstration|
|After dinner:||Killarney, Sandycove, Dun Laoghaire|
Guinness, it's a popular Irish dry stout that originated in the brewery of Arthur Guinness (1725â€“1803) and one of the most successful beer brands worldwide.
Guinness stout is made from water, barley, hops, and brewer's yeast, and is treated with isinglass finings made from fishes' air bladders, although Guinness has claimed that this finings material is unlikely to remain in the finished product this means it is generally deemed unsuitable for those following a vegetarian or vegan diet.A portion of the barley is roasted to give Guinness its dark colour and characteristic taste. It is pasteurised and filtered.
Despite its reputation as a "meal in a glass", Guinness only contains 198 kcal (838 kilojoules) per imperial pint, fewer than skimmed milk or orange juice and most other non-light beers.
A distinctive feature is the burnt flavour which is derived from the use of roasted unmalted barley. For many years a portion of aged brew was blended with freshly brewed product to give a sharp lactic flavour (which was a characteristic of the original Porter).
The thick creamy head is the result of the beer being mixed with nitrogen when being poured. It is popular with Irish people both in Ireland and abroad and, in spite of a decline in consumption since 2001. It is still the best-selling alcoholic drink in Ireland where Guinness & Co. makes almost â‚¬2 billion annually.
Studies claim that Guinness can be beneficial to the heart. Researchers found that "'antioxidant compounds' in the Guinness, similar to those found in certain fruits and vegetables, are responsible for health benefits because they slow down the deposit of harmful cholesterol on the artery walls
The company had its headquarters in London from 1932 onwards. It merged with Grand Metropolitan plc in 1997 and then figured in the development of the multi-national alcohol conglomerate Diageo.
DĂşn Laoghaire, Part of the borough of DĂşn Laoghaire, derives its name from its founder Laoghaire, king of Ireland in the 5th Century. Which chose this site as a naval base from where invading Great Britain and France. 'DĂşn' it is a Gaelic word meaning 'fortress'. King Laoghaire is also famous, for allowing St. Patrick, to spread the Christianity in Ireland. The town has been officially named Kingstown in the 1821 in honour of George the IV, but in the 1921, one year after the independence, regained its original name.